Duke University Press, Durham, NC


312 Pages

ISBN 9780822370468

The universal machine

Fred Moten

In The Universal Machine—the concluding volume to his landmark trilogy consent not to be a single being—Fred Moten presents a suite of three essays on Emmanuel Levinas, Hannah Arendt, and Frantz Fanon, in which he explores questions of freedom, capture, and selfhood. In trademark style, Moten considers these thinkers alongside artists and musicians such as William Kentridge and Curtis Mayfield while interrogating the relation between blackness and phenomenology.

Publication details

Full citation:

Moten, F. (2018). The universal machine, Duke University Press, Durham, NC.

Table of Contents

This document is unfortunately not available for download at the moment.